Thursday, October 29, 2009

Bears and Donkeys: Fiat Kills Chrysler

I may have overexaggerated a wee bit. Chrysler isn't dead, per se, but the popular brand names like the PT Cruiser and Sebring are gone for good, and it's about time. To be cruelly honest, Chrysler has produced some of the ugliest and poorly built cars I've ever laid eyes on. I apologize to all of you PT Cruiser owners.

In addition, Dodge and Jeep are losing some of their cars in the Fiat takeover of Chrysler. Namely the Dodge Avenger, Caliber, Grand Caravan, and Nitro; and the Jeep Patriot, Commander, and that dinky Compass-thingy. As sad as this might be for some of you, I couldn't be happier. Every time I see a PT Cruiser or a Sebring on the road I throw up a little in my mouth, and that darn Dodge Caliber reminds me of my childhood when I built castles out of LEGOs.

Competition drives the car market forward, bringing new and innovative technology, better design, and efficient reliability. If you can't compete, you might want to train harder, or just find something else that you're good at. Chrysler might want to take a stab at making kitchen appliances, who knows?
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, October 26, 2009

Test Drive: BMW 135i

That means it's a flat 6 cylinder mated with twin turbochargers, and yes, it does go fast.

The 1-Series is all new for 2008, and so far it's been a hit. We got one here at LeSueur's a few weeks ago, but I haven't been able to get my butt into it until today. Luckily it's a 6-speed manual, and it is dressed in white, my favorite color. Frankly put, if I could afford it, that would be the one car I'd buy off this lot.
Being smaller than a 3-series (obviously), and with only two doors, it's clearly not meant for long trips with adults in the back seat. The leather, however, is comfortable and soft, and the sport seats hugged me with more enthusiasm than my wife on my wedding day(sorry honey). I slid the seat back a little, dropped it an inch or so, and I was as snug as a bug.

On the road, the 135i knows exactly why it was made and what it is supposed to do. The steering is tight when it needs to be and loosens up when turning, unlike some BMWs. When floored, the 1-Series produces a nice and robust exhaust note without screaming at you, and the turbos, because there are two of them, seem to avoid much of the dreaded "turbo lag."

All in all, the BMW 135i is a very fun and fast car, and to top it off, it's probably one of the most attractive BMWs on the road today. But setting the looks aside, it provided an engaging and exciting experience, making it a desirable and comfortable daily driver.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Test Drives: Pony Car Arms Race


Well, it's been a few years since the Retro pony cars have been introduced, namely the Mustang, Challenger, and the recent Camaro. Now it's obvious that pitting these three against one another will generate plentiful interest, especially if you're using the best of the best.

The Shelby Super Snake is the ultimate Mustang of mustangs. With 750 horsepower to the crank, it's no wonder the MotorTrend drivers had trouble with the tires losing their grip. The Shelby turned out to be the crowd favorite, edging out the faster and more dynamic Hennessey Camaro HPE650 with refinement and style points.

In third place came the Dodge Challenger SRT-8 from SpeedFactory. It neck and neck in the 0-60 time, but nearly two seconds slower than the other two when hitting 100 mph. Underpowered and overweight, the Challenger challenges nobody, and least not these two, anyway.

In the end, the Camaro owned the track and the dragstrip, but as was mentioned earlier, the Shelby Mustang was chosen as the best overall package, despite it being nearly $25,000 more than the Camaro HPE650.

From my point of view, the Camaro is riding a massive wave of hype (almost like the Obama election...), and while it's an awesome car, it's likely the Mustang will reclaim it's position as the number one best seller. Transformers is slowly going the way of the buffalo, and with it will likely go the Camaro's hype. What do you think?
-Biggs

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Could it Be?: Toyota FT-86 Might Be Celica

According to Toyota, the FT-86 concept is going to be the best car in the world for drifting, or at least affordable drifting. The engine sits far back under the hood, and with weight being way down, the planned 160-180 horsepower engine will be plenty sufficient to provide a fun experience.
Apparently turbo and convertible versions are being considered. But what strikes me as odd is how they can consider this, a rear-wheel drive car, a Celica. For me, I'd be disappointed if it were a Celica, and not a Supra, unless they have bigger plans ahead for the Supra name.

Either way, the FT-86 (or Celica) is set to launch in 2012.

-Biggs

Kickin' Tires: Lexus LFA

Is Lexus over their head and out of their league? Apparently they don't think so, considering the 2011 launch of a $400,000 supercar known as the LFA. It's their first supercar ever, being released into a pool already filled with heavyweights such as the Nissan GT-R ($85,000), Corvette ZR1 ($105,000), and Porsche 911 Turbo ($140,000).

But what's unique about Lexus's LFA? Its panels are made of carbon fiber reinforced plastic, and with an aluminum frame, the car is extremely light. With it's throaty V-10, the Lexus boasts over 550 horsepower and a 0-60 time of 3.7 seconds (3.4 for the 911 Turbo).Lexus says they'll be losing money on each of the 500 LFA's to hit the market, but the car serves its purpose in exciting consumers about lower end Lexus vehicles, such as the IS-F. Will it work? Does it even stand a chance against cars that are 1/4th the price? We'll see. It's a sexy looking car, and it very well may become a collector's car which appreciates in value, but I can name at least four comparable cars I could buy for a total of $400,000.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Bears and Donkeys: Volkswagen Buys Porsche

Or at least 49.9% of it. Basically it's as if a man and woman who have lived together for years, have kids and grandkids, and finally decided to get married. Volkswagen and Porsche are merging, and on the horizon, Volkswagen plans on producing a line of "affordable" Porsches.

The Porsche purist in me shouts profanites and protest, but the frugal side of me secretly celebrates. It's both a scary and an exciting prospect, and as long as Porsche stays true to its roots, all will be good.Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, October 19, 2009

Kickin' Tires: 2010 Porsche 911 Turbo

The king of kings, the car of cars, a diamond among pebbles. The Porsche 911 Turbo is arguably one of the greatest supercars ever built; and it just keeps getting better.

Little is changing this year on the Turbo's skin, but check out the all new flat 6 cylinder engine and you'll think it's an entirely different car. Still twin-turbocharged, this new engine pumps out an astounding 493 horsepower and 479 lb/ft of insane torque. But if that's not enough, just flip on the Sportplus mode for a total of 519 lb/ft of torque, faster shifts, and ignition of the hyperdrive. No, wait, that's science fiction. Instead, they call it Launch Control, which is also found in the all wheel drive rocket ship known as the Nissan GT-R (aka Godzilla). It's pretty much like the afterburner in a military spec fighter jet, only for your car.

Imagine a 0-60mph time of 3.4 seconds. Now that's fast. And Porsche added all this power while reducing weight and improving fuel economy at the same time. Is it any wonder that the 911 is one of the most respected, recognized, and feared sports cars in the world? I think not. Rock on 911.
-Biggs

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Toyota...er, Subaru FT-86?

I've already shown you the concept car which Toyota is building jointly with Subaru. It appears that each automaker will have their own version of the car (something like the Toyota Matrix/Pontiac Vibe project). It comes as no surprise that the STI division from Subaru will pump out a high performance version. Using the 2.5 liter boxer engine, they plan on tweaking the engine to having somewhere between 240-250 horsepower, and that's without a turbo.
According to the professionals at MotorTrend (and this sketch is courtesy of MotorTrend), this new car could be of the most cost-effective rear wheel drive platforms when it launches sometime in 2012, meaning drifters everywhere have reason to rejoice.

I've always wanted a WRX, and I've loved the reliability and simplicity of Toyota. I don't know about the rest of you, but I'm pretty freaking excited.
-Biggs

Friday, October 16, 2009

Bears and Donkeys: The Hybrid Wars

There's little doubt that Toyota is leading the Hybrid sales numbers, and by a longshot. Toyota may have earned their spot for the rest of Hybrid eternity, for all we know.

According to Motortrend.com, Toyota has sold over 144,000 hybrid vehicles so far this year. The second and third place runners up are lightyears behind, Honda at about 29,000, and Ford around 26,000. And statistics show that Ford is gaining momentum, too, offering a variety of SUVs in addition to their sedans.At this point it's clear that Hybrids are the way of the future, at least the immediate future. We're already seeing diesel hybrids, plug-in hybrids, truck hybrids, and soon, sports car hybrids.

So who will beat Toyota? Will anyone? They've got a good start, and what more, a strong line-up of concept and future hybrids to hit the market in years to come. But for now, all eyes are on Honda and Ford. Honda had the first commercial hybrid ever, but is that enough for them to oust Ford?

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Could it Be?: Is THIS the long anticipated Supra?

I know I just posted pictures of a new Toyota Concept car, but take a look at this: (DO NOT CONFUSE THIS WITH THE FT-86. Although similar in appearance, this is far, far above the FT-86 concept.)

Until recently, no one has thought to make a sports car centered around a hybrid system. But logically, electric motors are capable of producing plentiful servings of torque, meaning faster acceleration. After all, many trains have been powered by electric motors, and those things need a lot of power to get them going.

The Toyota FT-HS concept combines a high-output V6 and an electric motor to produce an anticipated 400 horsepower, capable of launching the car to 60 mph in the 4-second range.These numbers are about what anyone would expect from the revived name of Supra, not a Celica. Stay tuned, and get ready for hybrid supercars, because they're on their way.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, October 12, 2009

Could it Be?: The Diesel Hybrid

Hybrid cars are the craze right now, bigger than "Tickle-Me-Elmo"s which flew off store shelves a few Christmases ago. If you haven't heard of the Prius or Insight, then you might want to introduce yourself to your neighbor, because they probably have one.

With the ability to drive nearly 50 miles on a single tank of gasoline, that's a huge improvement over every other car out there, even the standard Corollas or Civics. Or is it?

Urban legend has it that Europe has certain diesel cars able to go 80 or more miles on a single gallon of diesel. But let's be honest, those are myths, mostly from wishful diesel enthusiasts who want nothing more than a complete fundamental change in the automotive world.However, there is no question that diesel fuel is more efficient and, in the case of new biodiesels, more eco-friendly than gasoline. Current hybrid systems use the inferior gasoline engine combined with an electric motor. But what if we put a diesel engine with an electric motor, wouldn't that be even better than the infamous Prius?

Hold on to your socks. It's expected that certain TDI (turbo diesel) Hybrids can, and will, acheive around 70 mpg, and that's only with the first generation. By comparison, the first generation of Prius to hit the US market had a combined fuel economy rating of 41. Now, less than ten years later, fuel economy has increased 20% to 50 mpg.

With European automakers planning to bring more diesels to the United States, it only makes sense that a Diesel Hybrid is inevitable. It's time for Americans to demand that diesel cars make it to our shores. With at least 60 mpg (and that's probably a conservative figure), there's reason for manufacturers to push Diesel Hybrids.

Volvo is already working on their own Diesel Hybrid, and by the looks of the picture, it appears that Volkswagen is too. Stay tuned, America.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Short-Throw Shifter: Car Prices and Stuffs

"Welcome to McDonalds, how can I help you?"
"Yeah, where do you get your food from?"
"Uh, I'm sorry?"
"How much do you pay for your food? I bet you only pay 50 cents for your Big Macs, so I'll give you 60 cents, final offer."

At this point the poor 16 year old is probably laughing their head off at the ridiculous customer. Who on Earth would barter for a hamburger? What about a pair of jeans, a movie rental, or a carbonated beverage from a gas station? Yet, as ludicrous as these ideas sound, why then is it acceptable to negotiate the price of a car? I mean, seriously, how did this "tradition" come to be?

I have people ask me all the time where we buy our cars, how much we pay for them, and my favorite, "what's the lowest you'll go," to which I respond, "The lowest I'll go is the highest you'll pay." A stupid question merits an equally stupid answer. But really, why is the car industry the only industry where price is questioned?

Let's take a 44oz carbonated beverage, self serve, at any American gas station. You'll probably pay anywhere from $0.99 to $1.49, and even as high as two to four dollars at restaurants and movie theaters. But just how much do the materials cost? Ten cents for the cup, a nickel for the lid, a penny for the straw, and on the generous side, another five cents for the beverage itself. Our grand total comes to around $0.21, yet we pay more than 566% of what the materials are actually worth! For a movie theater soda, the percentage skyrockets to 1,900%! What a markup!

So why is it ok for soda servers to make insane amounts of profit while, at the same time, there is a double standard against car sales? Set aside, for a moment, the fact that many car salesmen are sleazy and dishonest. Let's take an average car being sold for $16,000. Typically, the dealer will have purchased this car for around $12,000, not counting for shipping fees, insurance, new tires, paint, advertising, window stickers, parts, and man hours needed for repairs. The price which the dealer paid can, and does, rise quickly. Once the car is sold, there is commission to the salesperson, which in some cases can be around 30% of the profit from the car, meaning that little is left for the dealer. Imagine if cars were sold with the same philosophy as a 44oz soda. If so, a $13,000 car would be sold for $7.4 million dollars.

I suppose car prices could be worse.

Instead of giving your car salesman a hard time, next time you go to a gas station, throw down a quarter for your 44oz and tell him to keep the change. Let them know how you feel about inflated soda prices. Besides, cars don't sell as well as soda.

So next time you're out car shopping, don't ask the question "how low can you go," or "what's the best price you can do," especially if you already know that the car is a good deal. Some people barter just for the sake of it, without realizing that the car they're buying as already an awesome deal compared to others out there. Besides, is it really too much to ask that the sticker price on a windshield be the final price, the actual price, the ONLY price?

I don't know, you tell me.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Could It Be?: Supras, Celicas, and MR-2's?!?

Toyota recently unveiled their concept car dubbed the "FT-86" meaning future Toyota, and by the looks of it, could this be the long anticipated return of the Supra king? The Toyota Supra, THE car that challenged American and German sports cars, and did so with ease. Could it be that the drag king, the drifting destroyer, the tuner's dream is finally back? I guess we'll have to wait another year or so to find out.

By the looks of things, Toyota is planning a 200 horsepower naturally aspirated 4 cylinder engine (similar to those found in present Subarus) a standard all wheel drive system, and 2+2 seating (meaning room for small persons in the back seat). Since I love the Supra so much, you can bet that I'll be watching this thing like a hawk. Stay tuned.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Burnin' Rubber: IRC Rally!

I have always found rally to be intriguing. Speeding along thin trails amidst trees, rocks, buildings, and insane fans, I'm surprised that any of those cars ever see the finish line. There are hundreds of videos on youtube devoted to the spectacular crashes of rally cars. A few even show some extremely luck onlookers who nearly met their fate head on.
Anyway, the World Rally Championship (WRC) is the leading venue for worldwide rally racing, but the Intercontinental Racing Challenge (IRC) is the up and coming direction. The former uses highly modified cars using technology similar (or better) to that found in hi-tech Formula 1 cars. The IRC, however, bans such cars, and requires that the cars be closer to stock with only specified modifications allowed. Overall, the IRC hopes to create a much less expensive venue for rally racers and companies. They're looking to break the mold, and they're growing steadily. Keep an eye out for things to come. In the mean time, check out these cool pictures.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs