No, it has no connection to the Prius. Not all hybrids are boring, uninspiring modes of point A to point B transportation. In a previous post, I mentioned how Porsche has created one of the first hybrid race cars, allowing energy to be conserved through braking, and using that energy for temporary boosts in power.
Ferrari has done roughly the same thing. No specifications are out yet for this Ferrari 599 Hybrid, but I'm sure we'll learn more about it quite soon.
I find it upsetting to see people bashing these hybrid sports cars, saying they're just promoting tree-hugging fashions and destroying everything a "real enthusiast" loves in a car.
I'd have to say that only the opposite is true. Ferrari and Porsche are two of the biggest names in the racing world. I'd like to think they know a thing or two about racing. If they say that hybrid systems are the way of the future, who am I to dispute that? Who is going to argue against better performance AND efficiency? Hmm...lemme think...NO ONE! By the way, and if you're anti-hybrid, listen up....hybrid doesn't equal "Prius." Hybrid is defined as two different objects coming together to perform the same function, such as the gasoline engine and an electric motor(s) working in conjunction to propel the car forward. They don't work against each other, they add their strength! It makes it FASTER, not slower. Get it through your heads! Embrace the future of the machines we love.
The funny part is that people 50 years from now will laugh at our primitive combustion-only mode of thinking. Technology evolves and propels humanity forward, never does it slow us down.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs






