Monday, November 30, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Identity Exposed FT-86

Turns out that the new FT-86 vehicle from Toyota is the reintroduction of the famed 1984 AE86 Corolla. The AE86 was one of the leading pioneer in the drifting segment and provided Toyota with a sporty, rear wheel drive hatchback.

Toyota claims that the new FT-86 will be the segment leader in performance and price, reigniting, as it were, the drifter scene. It is a joint project between Toyota and Subaru, and both automakers will have their version of the car.

This picture from a Japanese magazine shows the old AE86 next to a newer two door, resembling the FT-86, or what it might have been. The new guy clearly pays homage to the AE86 which rocked the 1980's. Get ready for more information in the next year.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Friday, November 27, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Evolution MR


The new Evolution MR adds a little more refinement to the Evolution line. Adding leather, a moon roof (simple, yes, but a first for the Evo), and a few other techy goodies. Weight is up about 30 lbs, but Mitsubishi claims it rocket to 60 in under 5 seconds, which is faster than the current 5.2 second mark. It comes with a 6-speed dual clutch automatic transmission, which could upset some enthusiasts. However, with a little more luxury than previous Evolutions, Mitsu is beginning to compete with BMW 3-Series and the Infiniti G-37, at least in terms of performance.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Short Throw Shifter: What is Sport? (part 1)

Toyota, a brand renowned for it's ability to make fuel efficient cars boring, is taking bold steps into the "Sport" market by placing a red adhesive "S" on the back of their Corollas. But what does that "S" really mean? Many think it means "Sport." I mean, yeah, it's red, and the "S" is curvy and stands out against the paint and black front grill. However, it turns out that the "S" means something more like "Simple" or "Standard" than "Sport."

Take Honda's Civic "Si" for example. It literally means "Sport Injected," and they mean it. They don't use the same gutless 4 cylinder found in the other Civics, unlike Toyota's Corolla S. It actually has a sport-tuned suspension, a 6-speed manual tranny, and a definite stand-out look when compared to the base Civics. Of course, I'm not even talking about it's 197 horsepower engine, it's 8000 rpm redline, or it's limited slip differential. Toyota's Corolla S looks a little more sporty than the base Corollas, per se, but they forgot to "inject" the sport into the car.

I must say, I'm a little biased, since I own a Civic Si. Every time I see a Corolla S, I want to roll down my window and ask, "What does that 'S' stand for?"

So, it looks like Toyota now offers a slightly larger engine in the XRS model (must stand for Extra Standard or Simple). It has a slight increase in power, and includes (extra fees applicable) an "X" and an "R" in front of that lonely "S."

Way to go Toyota, you've almost got the "Sport" figured out. In the meantime, I'll continue to laugh at these pitiful attempts of creating an economical car that's actually a blast to drive. I prefer cars injected with something resembling better performance or handling. "Sport" goes beyond a little red "S" on the bumper.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Burnin' Rubber: Rocket Ship for Four

That's right folks, now you can drive a "sedan" and still have an awesome experience. The 2010 Porsche Panamera is going where Porsche, or anyone else for that matter, has gone before.

It's a V8 with 650 horsepower under the hood. Essentially a longer 911 with four doors and a front mounted engine, the Panamera retains the popular and epic styling of Porsche. With all that power, the Porsche Panamera is capable of launching you and three friends to 60 mph in less than 3.4 seconds. That's faster than a Corvette ZR1, sexier, and has a similar pricetag.

Rock on Panamera.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Test Drive: Porsche Cayman S

I was fortunate enough to drive a Porsche Cayman S that was traded in last week. A local company had installed an aftermarket exhaust, intake, carbon fiber spoiler, and lowering springs. It looked amazing, and as soon as they drove off in their new car, I giddily hopped in the drivers seat and turned the key.

This is the first Porsche I've ever driven, or even caught a lift in. I've never turned the key on one, and it was a little strange, but exciting, having the key on the left side of the wheel.

The car was probably putting out around 320 horsepower to the rear wheels, and acceleration was as quick as you'd expect. I jostled the wheel at speed a little to feel out the stiff suspension, and it felt as tight as a drum and poised like a tiger. I had dreamed for years about driving a Porsche, and this was everything I had hoped to expect.

The exhaust note was nice, but being aftermarket it's impossible for me to say what the stock one sounds like. The interior is quiet, even when the pedal is floored, with the exception of a faint but welcome whine from the engine. I found the tranny to be silky smooth, though I'd prefer to have Reverse on the right side, near 5 and 6, rather than next to 1 and 2.
Having driven American, Asian, and European sports cars, there is little doubt in my mind as to which reigns supreme. It's just as you'd expect it to be. Americans prefer big-bore muscle, the Asians like their tuned out drifters, but the Europeans, especially the Germans, prefer refinement and prowess to braun and plastic. The Cayman S has earned a piece of my heart forever, and I can't wait to drive (and own) it's bigger brother, the 911.
-Biggs
(check out this link for actual pictures of this Cayman S)

Saturday, November 14, 2009

A Day of Mourning....

A relatively well-off Texan gentleman apparently wrecked his $1.7 Million Bugatti Veyron yesterday, claiming that a low-flying pelican frightened him, causing him to veer into a ditch and into a shallow lake.

Now is the time for one of the common folk to purchase a slightly used Veyron, possibly with a salvaged title. It's the only way we could possibly dream to afford one.

Turns out the 34 year old millionaire was texting while driving. There's a lesson for ya.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Test Drive: 2010 Genesis Coupe 3.8

I swung by the Hyundai dealer yesterday to take a drive in the new Genesis Coupe. I was originally looking for the 2.0T model, but apparently those are not very abundant in Arizona. Instead I fount five 3.8L V6 models, and I hopped in the only one with a 6-speed manual tranny.

To be honest, I wasn't terribly excited during my test drive. However, that may have been due in part to the sluggish chap next to me. Anyway, it was a nice solid feeling car, especially with the rear-wheel drive. First gear felt a little slow, and the car could do well with a little louder exhaust note.

Interior materials were nice, although the plastic door panels didn't mesh well with the leather seats. Some models were without a sunroof, and the V6 Premium I drove didn't even come with a full power driver seat.

Overall the experience was a pleasant one, though I would have liked a little more time on the drive. I'm not sure if it's really the sports car Hyundai has made it out to be. Drive one, and you can be the judge.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Zoom-Zoom!

The Mazdaspeed3 is an attractive looking hatchback that offers performance on a budget. Forget the Scion tC; spend the extra couple of grand and go big.

My day off is tomorrow, and I thinking I'm gonna stop by a Mazda dealer and take one for a spin. I've driven the older model, but I'm really diggin' the look of the new generation. Stay tuned and I'll let you know how it goes.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs