Monday, December 7, 2009

Joyride: Maserati Cambio Corsa

Call me spoiled, but the Maserati I rode in today was hardly a joyride. The ride was rough and loud (although that might have been caused by the decaying rubber being used as tires), and the acceleration was less than stellar. The interior was already falling apart, and the buttons for windows and locks were peeling away. You think that being a high end sports car, the Maserati would hold together a little better than that. It also has an F1 transmission, which is essentially an automatic with paddle-shifters that doesn't "crawl" when you let your foot off the brake. There is no shifter, which is strange, and a "park" option is mysteriously missing.

The guy who owned it traded it in for a BMW 335i Coupe, which is now to be his daily driver. That's reasonable, especially since he also owns two Ferraris and a Porsche 911 Turbo. But the sad thing is that he paid $104,000 for this Maserati back in 2004, only to trade it in for a measely $20,000. Shocking? I wasn't really surprised, to be honest. I think Maseratis are an overpriced hunk o' junk, which is proven by their horrible resale value. In comparison, a Toyota Supra Turbo (10 years older, I might add) will trade in for around the same price.

Sounds like Maserati needs to join the ranks of carmakers that have gone the way of the buffalo. I'm sure that Saturn and DaLorean are feeling pretty lonely right about now.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

1 comment:

  1. I have always thought they were pretty good cars...maybe the last owner just did not take very good care of it, but then again...he does own quite a few of very nice cars so you think he knows better.

    ReplyDelete