Monday, December 14, 2009

Short Throw Shifter: Bye Bye Bugatti

That's right, Bugatti, this Porsche is pulling away. It has 10 fewer cylinders, 100 more horsepower, twice the looks, and a fraction of the required maintainence costs of the Italian hypercar. The famous Porsche tuner 9ff has taken a 911 and used the stock engine to create a 4.0 liter 6 cylinder monster that produces 1120 horsepower. All those ponies can take this GT9-R to a near warp top speed of 257 mph, and it's on track to take the world production car speed record.

It's already reached a speed of 254 on a test run, putting it 1 mph faster than the Bugatti, and just about 1 mph shy of the speed record set by the SSC Ultimate Aero. God speed, 9ff....God speed.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, December 7, 2009

Joyride: Maserati Cambio Corsa

Call me spoiled, but the Maserati I rode in today was hardly a joyride. The ride was rough and loud (although that might have been caused by the decaying rubber being used as tires), and the acceleration was less than stellar. The interior was already falling apart, and the buttons for windows and locks were peeling away. You think that being a high end sports car, the Maserati would hold together a little better than that. It also has an F1 transmission, which is essentially an automatic with paddle-shifters that doesn't "crawl" when you let your foot off the brake. There is no shifter, which is strange, and a "park" option is mysteriously missing.

The guy who owned it traded it in for a BMW 335i Coupe, which is now to be his daily driver. That's reasonable, especially since he also owns two Ferraris and a Porsche 911 Turbo. But the sad thing is that he paid $104,000 for this Maserati back in 2004, only to trade it in for a measely $20,000. Shocking? I wasn't really surprised, to be honest. I think Maseratis are an overpriced hunk o' junk, which is proven by their horrible resale value. In comparison, a Toyota Supra Turbo (10 years older, I might add) will trade in for around the same price.

Sounds like Maserati needs to join the ranks of carmakers that have gone the way of the buffalo. I'm sure that Saturn and DaLorean are feeling pretty lonely right about now.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Friday, December 4, 2009

Short Throw Shifter: What is Sport? (part 2)

So last time I compared the Toyota Corolla S against the Honda Civic Si. If you've read the post, you now know which one deserves the title of "Sport."

Now, aside from size and fuel economy, the next two cars don't have much in common. One is German, the other Japanese. One handles like a go-cart, the other, more like a mini van.

Enter the Mini Cooper S and the Toyota Yaris S...

First, the Mini Cooper S adds a turbocharger to it's already spunky base model, turning the little sled into a rocket ship for 2+2. Mini also adds a hood scoop to the hood, larger wheels, a sport tuned suspension, and a little red "S." You might not notice a huge difference on the outside, but drive the two, and you'll know.

The Toyota Yaris S, on the otherhand, has the same power output as the base model. The only additions come in the form of a different color scheme for the tach and speedometer, a different cloth pattern for the seats, and some outside body pieces. Oh yeah, and it also has a little red "S."

I imagine you have already figured out which car handles like a go-cart and which one flops like a dead fish. Again, Toyota, you fail to impress with your "S." What does that "S" mean, anyway? Slow? Standard? Sub-par? Take a hint from Mini, drop in a Toyota Racing Development supercharger (unless they only make stickers now), and then we'll talk.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Kickin' Tires: All New Porsche Boxter Spyder

All new to the Porsche lineup is the 2010 Porsche Boxter Spyder. Compared to the Boxter S, the new Spyder gains 10 horsepower (up to 320 now) and sheds 176 pounds of extra weight.

Porsche went to great lengths to get this Boxter back into shape, removing the radio, air conditioning, and even the inside door pulls. The result? The trimmest and quickest Boxter yet.

With a price of $62,000 plus, they don't come cheap, but if you're looking to do some carving on those mountain roads, there aren't many better choices out there. If this thing drives anything like a Cayman S (and if I had $62,000 to spare), I'd be first in line for this guy, and I don't usually like Boxters.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, November 30, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Identity Exposed FT-86

Turns out that the new FT-86 vehicle from Toyota is the reintroduction of the famed 1984 AE86 Corolla. The AE86 was one of the leading pioneer in the drifting segment and provided Toyota with a sporty, rear wheel drive hatchback.

Toyota claims that the new FT-86 will be the segment leader in performance and price, reigniting, as it were, the drifter scene. It is a joint project between Toyota and Subaru, and both automakers will have their version of the car.

This picture from a Japanese magazine shows the old AE86 next to a newer two door, resembling the FT-86, or what it might have been. The new guy clearly pays homage to the AE86 which rocked the 1980's. Get ready for more information in the next year.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Friday, November 27, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Evolution MR


The new Evolution MR adds a little more refinement to the Evolution line. Adding leather, a moon roof (simple, yes, but a first for the Evo), and a few other techy goodies. Weight is up about 30 lbs, but Mitsubishi claims it rocket to 60 in under 5 seconds, which is faster than the current 5.2 second mark. It comes with a 6-speed dual clutch automatic transmission, which could upset some enthusiasts. However, with a little more luxury than previous Evolutions, Mitsu is beginning to compete with BMW 3-Series and the Infiniti G-37, at least in terms of performance.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Short Throw Shifter: What is Sport? (part 1)

Toyota, a brand renowned for it's ability to make fuel efficient cars boring, is taking bold steps into the "Sport" market by placing a red adhesive "S" on the back of their Corollas. But what does that "S" really mean? Many think it means "Sport." I mean, yeah, it's red, and the "S" is curvy and stands out against the paint and black front grill. However, it turns out that the "S" means something more like "Simple" or "Standard" than "Sport."

Take Honda's Civic "Si" for example. It literally means "Sport Injected," and they mean it. They don't use the same gutless 4 cylinder found in the other Civics, unlike Toyota's Corolla S. It actually has a sport-tuned suspension, a 6-speed manual tranny, and a definite stand-out look when compared to the base Civics. Of course, I'm not even talking about it's 197 horsepower engine, it's 8000 rpm redline, or it's limited slip differential. Toyota's Corolla S looks a little more sporty than the base Corollas, per se, but they forgot to "inject" the sport into the car.

I must say, I'm a little biased, since I own a Civic Si. Every time I see a Corolla S, I want to roll down my window and ask, "What does that 'S' stand for?"

So, it looks like Toyota now offers a slightly larger engine in the XRS model (must stand for Extra Standard or Simple). It has a slight increase in power, and includes (extra fees applicable) an "X" and an "R" in front of that lonely "S."

Way to go Toyota, you've almost got the "Sport" figured out. In the meantime, I'll continue to laugh at these pitiful attempts of creating an economical car that's actually a blast to drive. I prefer cars injected with something resembling better performance or handling. "Sport" goes beyond a little red "S" on the bumper.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Burnin' Rubber: Rocket Ship for Four

That's right folks, now you can drive a "sedan" and still have an awesome experience. The 2010 Porsche Panamera is going where Porsche, or anyone else for that matter, has gone before.

It's a V8 with 650 horsepower under the hood. Essentially a longer 911 with four doors and a front mounted engine, the Panamera retains the popular and epic styling of Porsche. With all that power, the Porsche Panamera is capable of launching you and three friends to 60 mph in less than 3.4 seconds. That's faster than a Corvette ZR1, sexier, and has a similar pricetag.

Rock on Panamera.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Test Drive: Porsche Cayman S

I was fortunate enough to drive a Porsche Cayman S that was traded in last week. A local company had installed an aftermarket exhaust, intake, carbon fiber spoiler, and lowering springs. It looked amazing, and as soon as they drove off in their new car, I giddily hopped in the drivers seat and turned the key.

This is the first Porsche I've ever driven, or even caught a lift in. I've never turned the key on one, and it was a little strange, but exciting, having the key on the left side of the wheel.

The car was probably putting out around 320 horsepower to the rear wheels, and acceleration was as quick as you'd expect. I jostled the wheel at speed a little to feel out the stiff suspension, and it felt as tight as a drum and poised like a tiger. I had dreamed for years about driving a Porsche, and this was everything I had hoped to expect.

The exhaust note was nice, but being aftermarket it's impossible for me to say what the stock one sounds like. The interior is quiet, even when the pedal is floored, with the exception of a faint but welcome whine from the engine. I found the tranny to be silky smooth, though I'd prefer to have Reverse on the right side, near 5 and 6, rather than next to 1 and 2.
Having driven American, Asian, and European sports cars, there is little doubt in my mind as to which reigns supreme. It's just as you'd expect it to be. Americans prefer big-bore muscle, the Asians like their tuned out drifters, but the Europeans, especially the Germans, prefer refinement and prowess to braun and plastic. The Cayman S has earned a piece of my heart forever, and I can't wait to drive (and own) it's bigger brother, the 911.
-Biggs
(check out this link for actual pictures of this Cayman S)

Saturday, November 14, 2009

A Day of Mourning....

A relatively well-off Texan gentleman apparently wrecked his $1.7 Million Bugatti Veyron yesterday, claiming that a low-flying pelican frightened him, causing him to veer into a ditch and into a shallow lake.

Now is the time for one of the common folk to purchase a slightly used Veyron, possibly with a salvaged title. It's the only way we could possibly dream to afford one.

Turns out the 34 year old millionaire was texting while driving. There's a lesson for ya.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Test Drive: 2010 Genesis Coupe 3.8

I swung by the Hyundai dealer yesterday to take a drive in the new Genesis Coupe. I was originally looking for the 2.0T model, but apparently those are not very abundant in Arizona. Instead I fount five 3.8L V6 models, and I hopped in the only one with a 6-speed manual tranny.

To be honest, I wasn't terribly excited during my test drive. However, that may have been due in part to the sluggish chap next to me. Anyway, it was a nice solid feeling car, especially with the rear-wheel drive. First gear felt a little slow, and the car could do well with a little louder exhaust note.

Interior materials were nice, although the plastic door panels didn't mesh well with the leather seats. Some models were without a sunroof, and the V6 Premium I drove didn't even come with a full power driver seat.

Overall the experience was a pleasant one, though I would have liked a little more time on the drive. I'm not sure if it's really the sports car Hyundai has made it out to be. Drive one, and you can be the judge.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Zoom-Zoom!

The Mazdaspeed3 is an attractive looking hatchback that offers performance on a budget. Forget the Scion tC; spend the extra couple of grand and go big.

My day off is tomorrow, and I thinking I'm gonna stop by a Mazda dealer and take one for a spin. I've driven the older model, but I'm really diggin' the look of the new generation. Stay tuned and I'll let you know how it goes.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Bears and Donkeys: Fiat Kills Chrysler

I may have overexaggerated a wee bit. Chrysler isn't dead, per se, but the popular brand names like the PT Cruiser and Sebring are gone for good, and it's about time. To be cruelly honest, Chrysler has produced some of the ugliest and poorly built cars I've ever laid eyes on. I apologize to all of you PT Cruiser owners.

In addition, Dodge and Jeep are losing some of their cars in the Fiat takeover of Chrysler. Namely the Dodge Avenger, Caliber, Grand Caravan, and Nitro; and the Jeep Patriot, Commander, and that dinky Compass-thingy. As sad as this might be for some of you, I couldn't be happier. Every time I see a PT Cruiser or a Sebring on the road I throw up a little in my mouth, and that darn Dodge Caliber reminds me of my childhood when I built castles out of LEGOs.

Competition drives the car market forward, bringing new and innovative technology, better design, and efficient reliability. If you can't compete, you might want to train harder, or just find something else that you're good at. Chrysler might want to take a stab at making kitchen appliances, who knows?
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, October 26, 2009

Test Drive: BMW 135i

That means it's a flat 6 cylinder mated with twin turbochargers, and yes, it does go fast.

The 1-Series is all new for 2008, and so far it's been a hit. We got one here at LeSueur's a few weeks ago, but I haven't been able to get my butt into it until today. Luckily it's a 6-speed manual, and it is dressed in white, my favorite color. Frankly put, if I could afford it, that would be the one car I'd buy off this lot.
Being smaller than a 3-series (obviously), and with only two doors, it's clearly not meant for long trips with adults in the back seat. The leather, however, is comfortable and soft, and the sport seats hugged me with more enthusiasm than my wife on my wedding day(sorry honey). I slid the seat back a little, dropped it an inch or so, and I was as snug as a bug.

On the road, the 135i knows exactly why it was made and what it is supposed to do. The steering is tight when it needs to be and loosens up when turning, unlike some BMWs. When floored, the 1-Series produces a nice and robust exhaust note without screaming at you, and the turbos, because there are two of them, seem to avoid much of the dreaded "turbo lag."

All in all, the BMW 135i is a very fun and fast car, and to top it off, it's probably one of the most attractive BMWs on the road today. But setting the looks aside, it provided an engaging and exciting experience, making it a desirable and comfortable daily driver.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Test Drives: Pony Car Arms Race


Well, it's been a few years since the Retro pony cars have been introduced, namely the Mustang, Challenger, and the recent Camaro. Now it's obvious that pitting these three against one another will generate plentiful interest, especially if you're using the best of the best.

The Shelby Super Snake is the ultimate Mustang of mustangs. With 750 horsepower to the crank, it's no wonder the MotorTrend drivers had trouble with the tires losing their grip. The Shelby turned out to be the crowd favorite, edging out the faster and more dynamic Hennessey Camaro HPE650 with refinement and style points.

In third place came the Dodge Challenger SRT-8 from SpeedFactory. It neck and neck in the 0-60 time, but nearly two seconds slower than the other two when hitting 100 mph. Underpowered and overweight, the Challenger challenges nobody, and least not these two, anyway.

In the end, the Camaro owned the track and the dragstrip, but as was mentioned earlier, the Shelby Mustang was chosen as the best overall package, despite it being nearly $25,000 more than the Camaro HPE650.

From my point of view, the Camaro is riding a massive wave of hype (almost like the Obama election...), and while it's an awesome car, it's likely the Mustang will reclaim it's position as the number one best seller. Transformers is slowly going the way of the buffalo, and with it will likely go the Camaro's hype. What do you think?
-Biggs

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Could it Be?: Toyota FT-86 Might Be Celica

According to Toyota, the FT-86 concept is going to be the best car in the world for drifting, or at least affordable drifting. The engine sits far back under the hood, and with weight being way down, the planned 160-180 horsepower engine will be plenty sufficient to provide a fun experience.
Apparently turbo and convertible versions are being considered. But what strikes me as odd is how they can consider this, a rear-wheel drive car, a Celica. For me, I'd be disappointed if it were a Celica, and not a Supra, unless they have bigger plans ahead for the Supra name.

Either way, the FT-86 (or Celica) is set to launch in 2012.

-Biggs

Kickin' Tires: Lexus LFA

Is Lexus over their head and out of their league? Apparently they don't think so, considering the 2011 launch of a $400,000 supercar known as the LFA. It's their first supercar ever, being released into a pool already filled with heavyweights such as the Nissan GT-R ($85,000), Corvette ZR1 ($105,000), and Porsche 911 Turbo ($140,000).

But what's unique about Lexus's LFA? Its panels are made of carbon fiber reinforced plastic, and with an aluminum frame, the car is extremely light. With it's throaty V-10, the Lexus boasts over 550 horsepower and a 0-60 time of 3.7 seconds (3.4 for the 911 Turbo).Lexus says they'll be losing money on each of the 500 LFA's to hit the market, but the car serves its purpose in exciting consumers about lower end Lexus vehicles, such as the IS-F. Will it work? Does it even stand a chance against cars that are 1/4th the price? We'll see. It's a sexy looking car, and it very well may become a collector's car which appreciates in value, but I can name at least four comparable cars I could buy for a total of $400,000.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Bears and Donkeys: Volkswagen Buys Porsche

Or at least 49.9% of it. Basically it's as if a man and woman who have lived together for years, have kids and grandkids, and finally decided to get married. Volkswagen and Porsche are merging, and on the horizon, Volkswagen plans on producing a line of "affordable" Porsches.

The Porsche purist in me shouts profanites and protest, but the frugal side of me secretly celebrates. It's both a scary and an exciting prospect, and as long as Porsche stays true to its roots, all will be good.Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, October 19, 2009

Kickin' Tires: 2010 Porsche 911 Turbo

The king of kings, the car of cars, a diamond among pebbles. The Porsche 911 Turbo is arguably one of the greatest supercars ever built; and it just keeps getting better.

Little is changing this year on the Turbo's skin, but check out the all new flat 6 cylinder engine and you'll think it's an entirely different car. Still twin-turbocharged, this new engine pumps out an astounding 493 horsepower and 479 lb/ft of insane torque. But if that's not enough, just flip on the Sportplus mode for a total of 519 lb/ft of torque, faster shifts, and ignition of the hyperdrive. No, wait, that's science fiction. Instead, they call it Launch Control, which is also found in the all wheel drive rocket ship known as the Nissan GT-R (aka Godzilla). It's pretty much like the afterburner in a military spec fighter jet, only for your car.

Imagine a 0-60mph time of 3.4 seconds. Now that's fast. And Porsche added all this power while reducing weight and improving fuel economy at the same time. Is it any wonder that the 911 is one of the most respected, recognized, and feared sports cars in the world? I think not. Rock on 911.
-Biggs

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Toyota...er, Subaru FT-86?

I've already shown you the concept car which Toyota is building jointly with Subaru. It appears that each automaker will have their own version of the car (something like the Toyota Matrix/Pontiac Vibe project). It comes as no surprise that the STI division from Subaru will pump out a high performance version. Using the 2.5 liter boxer engine, they plan on tweaking the engine to having somewhere between 240-250 horsepower, and that's without a turbo.
According to the professionals at MotorTrend (and this sketch is courtesy of MotorTrend), this new car could be of the most cost-effective rear wheel drive platforms when it launches sometime in 2012, meaning drifters everywhere have reason to rejoice.

I've always wanted a WRX, and I've loved the reliability and simplicity of Toyota. I don't know about the rest of you, but I'm pretty freaking excited.
-Biggs

Friday, October 16, 2009

Bears and Donkeys: The Hybrid Wars

There's little doubt that Toyota is leading the Hybrid sales numbers, and by a longshot. Toyota may have earned their spot for the rest of Hybrid eternity, for all we know.

According to Motortrend.com, Toyota has sold over 144,000 hybrid vehicles so far this year. The second and third place runners up are lightyears behind, Honda at about 29,000, and Ford around 26,000. And statistics show that Ford is gaining momentum, too, offering a variety of SUVs in addition to their sedans.At this point it's clear that Hybrids are the way of the future, at least the immediate future. We're already seeing diesel hybrids, plug-in hybrids, truck hybrids, and soon, sports car hybrids.

So who will beat Toyota? Will anyone? They've got a good start, and what more, a strong line-up of concept and future hybrids to hit the market in years to come. But for now, all eyes are on Honda and Ford. Honda had the first commercial hybrid ever, but is that enough for them to oust Ford?

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Could it Be?: Is THIS the long anticipated Supra?

I know I just posted pictures of a new Toyota Concept car, but take a look at this: (DO NOT CONFUSE THIS WITH THE FT-86. Although similar in appearance, this is far, far above the FT-86 concept.)

Until recently, no one has thought to make a sports car centered around a hybrid system. But logically, electric motors are capable of producing plentiful servings of torque, meaning faster acceleration. After all, many trains have been powered by electric motors, and those things need a lot of power to get them going.

The Toyota FT-HS concept combines a high-output V6 and an electric motor to produce an anticipated 400 horsepower, capable of launching the car to 60 mph in the 4-second range.These numbers are about what anyone would expect from the revived name of Supra, not a Celica. Stay tuned, and get ready for hybrid supercars, because they're on their way.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, October 12, 2009

Could it Be?: The Diesel Hybrid

Hybrid cars are the craze right now, bigger than "Tickle-Me-Elmo"s which flew off store shelves a few Christmases ago. If you haven't heard of the Prius or Insight, then you might want to introduce yourself to your neighbor, because they probably have one.

With the ability to drive nearly 50 miles on a single tank of gasoline, that's a huge improvement over every other car out there, even the standard Corollas or Civics. Or is it?

Urban legend has it that Europe has certain diesel cars able to go 80 or more miles on a single gallon of diesel. But let's be honest, those are myths, mostly from wishful diesel enthusiasts who want nothing more than a complete fundamental change in the automotive world.However, there is no question that diesel fuel is more efficient and, in the case of new biodiesels, more eco-friendly than gasoline. Current hybrid systems use the inferior gasoline engine combined with an electric motor. But what if we put a diesel engine with an electric motor, wouldn't that be even better than the infamous Prius?

Hold on to your socks. It's expected that certain TDI (turbo diesel) Hybrids can, and will, acheive around 70 mpg, and that's only with the first generation. By comparison, the first generation of Prius to hit the US market had a combined fuel economy rating of 41. Now, less than ten years later, fuel economy has increased 20% to 50 mpg.

With European automakers planning to bring more diesels to the United States, it only makes sense that a Diesel Hybrid is inevitable. It's time for Americans to demand that diesel cars make it to our shores. With at least 60 mpg (and that's probably a conservative figure), there's reason for manufacturers to push Diesel Hybrids.

Volvo is already working on their own Diesel Hybrid, and by the looks of the picture, it appears that Volkswagen is too. Stay tuned, America.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Short-Throw Shifter: Car Prices and Stuffs

"Welcome to McDonalds, how can I help you?"
"Yeah, where do you get your food from?"
"Uh, I'm sorry?"
"How much do you pay for your food? I bet you only pay 50 cents for your Big Macs, so I'll give you 60 cents, final offer."

At this point the poor 16 year old is probably laughing their head off at the ridiculous customer. Who on Earth would barter for a hamburger? What about a pair of jeans, a movie rental, or a carbonated beverage from a gas station? Yet, as ludicrous as these ideas sound, why then is it acceptable to negotiate the price of a car? I mean, seriously, how did this "tradition" come to be?

I have people ask me all the time where we buy our cars, how much we pay for them, and my favorite, "what's the lowest you'll go," to which I respond, "The lowest I'll go is the highest you'll pay." A stupid question merits an equally stupid answer. But really, why is the car industry the only industry where price is questioned?

Let's take a 44oz carbonated beverage, self serve, at any American gas station. You'll probably pay anywhere from $0.99 to $1.49, and even as high as two to four dollars at restaurants and movie theaters. But just how much do the materials cost? Ten cents for the cup, a nickel for the lid, a penny for the straw, and on the generous side, another five cents for the beverage itself. Our grand total comes to around $0.21, yet we pay more than 566% of what the materials are actually worth! For a movie theater soda, the percentage skyrockets to 1,900%! What a markup!

So why is it ok for soda servers to make insane amounts of profit while, at the same time, there is a double standard against car sales? Set aside, for a moment, the fact that many car salesmen are sleazy and dishonest. Let's take an average car being sold for $16,000. Typically, the dealer will have purchased this car for around $12,000, not counting for shipping fees, insurance, new tires, paint, advertising, window stickers, parts, and man hours needed for repairs. The price which the dealer paid can, and does, rise quickly. Once the car is sold, there is commission to the salesperson, which in some cases can be around 30% of the profit from the car, meaning that little is left for the dealer. Imagine if cars were sold with the same philosophy as a 44oz soda. If so, a $13,000 car would be sold for $7.4 million dollars.

I suppose car prices could be worse.

Instead of giving your car salesman a hard time, next time you go to a gas station, throw down a quarter for your 44oz and tell him to keep the change. Let them know how you feel about inflated soda prices. Besides, cars don't sell as well as soda.

So next time you're out car shopping, don't ask the question "how low can you go," or "what's the best price you can do," especially if you already know that the car is a good deal. Some people barter just for the sake of it, without realizing that the car they're buying as already an awesome deal compared to others out there. Besides, is it really too much to ask that the sticker price on a windshield be the final price, the actual price, the ONLY price?

I don't know, you tell me.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Could It Be?: Supras, Celicas, and MR-2's?!?

Toyota recently unveiled their concept car dubbed the "FT-86" meaning future Toyota, and by the looks of it, could this be the long anticipated return of the Supra king? The Toyota Supra, THE car that challenged American and German sports cars, and did so with ease. Could it be that the drag king, the drifting destroyer, the tuner's dream is finally back? I guess we'll have to wait another year or so to find out.

By the looks of things, Toyota is planning a 200 horsepower naturally aspirated 4 cylinder engine (similar to those found in present Subarus) a standard all wheel drive system, and 2+2 seating (meaning room for small persons in the back seat). Since I love the Supra so much, you can bet that I'll be watching this thing like a hawk. Stay tuned.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Burnin' Rubber: IRC Rally!

I have always found rally to be intriguing. Speeding along thin trails amidst trees, rocks, buildings, and insane fans, I'm surprised that any of those cars ever see the finish line. There are hundreds of videos on youtube devoted to the spectacular crashes of rally cars. A few even show some extremely luck onlookers who nearly met their fate head on.
Anyway, the World Rally Championship (WRC) is the leading venue for worldwide rally racing, but the Intercontinental Racing Challenge (IRC) is the up and coming direction. The former uses highly modified cars using technology similar (or better) to that found in hi-tech Formula 1 cars. The IRC, however, bans such cars, and requires that the cars be closer to stock with only specified modifications allowed. Overall, the IRC hopes to create a much less expensive venue for rally racers and companies. They're looking to break the mold, and they're growing steadily. Keep an eye out for things to come. In the mean time, check out these cool pictures.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Kickin' Tires: 2010 Toyota 4Runner

In a world full of wimpy SUVs and Crossovers, it's good to see that some are still true to the Sport factor of Sport-Utility-Vehicle. The Toyota 4Runner has always been an admirable performer, especially in the off-road department. According to Toyota, of the 1.8 million 4Runners sold since 1984, over 1.3 million are still maintained and running strong.

The new 4Runner gets an all new V6 good for horsepower and torque in the high 200s, and horsepower and fuel economy being better than the previous gen's V8. The wheelbase and outward dimensions remain nearly the same, but inside cargo space is improved quite well. Add a tailgate for the 5-passenger variant, along with speakers that go into "Party Mode," and you've got the coolest tailgating machine in town.

The new 2010 4Runner will hit the ground running, due to the increase in performance, luxury, and interior space. All of that comes from Toyota without a price increase over the previous 2009 model. However, with a plethora of SUVs and Crossovers provided by Toyota, including the Highlander, RAV4, Sequoia, Land Cruiser, and FJ Cruiser, it's hard for this middle child 4Runner to really stand out above the crowd. Toyota is hopeful, and chose to go big instead of going home. We'll see how that works out when the new 4Runner launches at the end of the year.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Burnin' Rubber: The Z/28 Camaro

Boom boom, pow! The new Camaro Z/28 is set to launch in 2011 with 556 horsepower and a lot more attitude and power than Bumblebee could ever hope to achieve. This car is going to be fast, hitting 60 mph in an estimated 3.9 seconds. Built to compete with the Mustang GT500, this guy won't be cheap, but don't expect Corvette-like prices, either. More to come later.

-Biggs

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Kickin' Tires: 2010 Volkswagen GTI R

Ya'll ready for this?

Volkswagen is done with the R32, and has introduced the most powerful Golf yet. The GTI R is a 270hp turbocharged 4 cylinder which stomps the time records of the R32 by lightyears. It's lighter, faster, meaner, and more fuel efficient. I can't wait to drive one.

-Biggs

Kickin' Tires: The New 2010 Toyota Tundra


In 2007, Toyota's new Tundra shook the American truck-makers like a high magnitude earthquake. More horsepower, more room, more...Everything! But then, why, for 2010, is the Tundra going smaller? Dropping the 4.7L V8 to a 4.6L isn't a huge drop, but what gives? Actually, it's not giving up anything. The new, smaller V8 is producing more horsepower and torque than the 4.7L while simultaneously improving gas mileage. That's right, more power and less fuel-sucking, always a good thing.

Aside from the change in engine options, Toyota has made subtle changes to the front grill, tail lights, and a major change to the tranny: a 6-speed automatic. More gears usually means better fuel economy, which is why the new 4.6L gets 20mpg highway compared to the 4.7L's 17mpg.

The Tundra is all truck, and the 2010 Tundra continues along the path it paved back in 2007. It's one of the hottest trucks on the market, and now with a more powerful "smaller" engine, Toyota is vying to knock out the F-150 as the truck of the year. Let's just say that I'm crossing my fingers.
Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Friday, September 11, 2009

Never Forget 9/11


It's too bad that patriotism only shines through on days such as this, only to hide in the shadows until the next national holiday. We cannot be weekend patriots.

On this day eight years ago, our world changed. America, the nation founded upon principals of freedom, constructed atop a rock of ever enduring hope and prosperity, was brought to its knees. Three thousand souls perished, and reminded us all just how fragile our world is. Fear, something our generation has not known, was introduced with such shocking force that no one could anticipate its power.

Yet this fear, the objective of terror, was quickly exterminated as millions of Americans bonded together in patriotic unity not seen in half a century. This time, the war was not on foreign soil, thousands of miles from our peaceful suburbia. This time, they brought the war home, to our land, to our country.

And now as the years fade into history, Americans forget the importance of that dreadful day. A new generation rises, too young to remember the live footage and feelings of disbelief and despair. It is our fault that they do not remember. It is our fault if we let ourselves forget. Why must we always fall before we rise up in unison? Why must we suffer consequences before we see the light?

Let us remember, always. Let us forget the meaningless things in life, that we may seek after the goodness which our country allows. Let us pursue our dreams, develop our talents, and most of all, let us seek to do good. If we do not these things, we take our freedoms for granted.

May we never forget 9/11 and what it means to be American.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Short-Throw Shifter: Trade-in Values

The hardest part about the car industry is the trade-in. A deal is often dependant upon the trade-in value, and unless the customer gets their anticipated trade-in value, they snort and stomp and flat out refuse to do business. They act as though their mother, grandmother, dog, and every 2nd cousin on their father's side have been personally insulted. I mean, I love my car too, but it's just a car, and no one should be offended if their car isn't worth as much as they'd like it to be.

I think often times consumers are afraid that sleazy dealers are trying to rip them off by offering way less than what their car is worth. Though it is commonplace, it doesn't happen everywhere. Sometimes dealers will give an honest appraisal for a trade, but due to other fishy tactics, the customer feels cheated anyway.

Sometimes the dealer feels offended in return, as a customer demands full trade-in value for their junker and less than wholesale value for the new vehicle. It doesn't work that way, and never has. The dealer is supposed to rip off the customer, not the other way around. If you're looking to pay wholesale value for a new (or used) car, then don't have hopes and dreams of getting full trade-in value for your old one.

Also, just because Kelley Blue Book says it, doesn't mean that it's true. It's a good reference tool, but no dealer is going to pay you more than what they can pay for your car at auction or wholesale. Dealers will value your trade by comparing it to similar vehicles that have been sold recently at auction.

I hope this helps to give you an idea for your next trade-in. Feel free to comment with questions.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Thursday, September 3, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Ford F-150 Platinum


I went to the nearby Ford dealership yesterday in hopes of getting a glimpse of the Ford SVT Raptor F-150. This specialized truck (pictured at right for Wheels of the Week) is an off-road menace, eating dirt and and gravel for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It's upgraded suspension allows it to master places where few trucks are capable of going. On top of that, the truck looks awesome, setting itself apart from it's 150 brothers with a wider stance, a black grill, and oversized tires.

While I was there, I did take a look at the 2009-2010 F-150s, and I must say, I was impressed. Ford is actually doing some great things, and having the number one truck in the country for 32 consecutive years means they're doing something right.

Always an import guy, myself, I never imagined I'd be walking around in Ford territory. Though, after seeing Ford ride the economical tide with success, it's hard to say anymore that their build quality is poor. It makes me actually consider buying American, something that I've only had nightmares about. Bravo, Ford. Keep up the good work.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Short-Throw Shifter: I'm Just an Innocent Salesman...guy....dude

Face it, car salesmen are among the most hated of all people. They are the lowest in the caste structure of any economy or social structure out there. Banks discriminate against us, customers lie to us and treat us with contempt, and we have to work on weekends! On a daily basis, a sales guy will endure 7 hung up phone calls, 16 people ignoring you completely, and 34 insults directed at their mothers (numbers may vary).

My favorite is when customers show up just minutes before closing time, expecting...no, demanding to test drive cars. Their purpose, you might ask? Well, it's certainly not to buy a car. They come to enact vengeance upon the mighty salespeople by keeping them after hours. By the end of the day, we're tired, grumpy, and ready to go home. We've already been beat up more times throughout the day than the worst UFC fighter has in his career, and no one, I repeat, no one, is going to hassle us on price EVER AGAIN!

With so many people trying to steal our cars for thousands less than what we ask, it's easy to get frustrated and defensive. I guess it's difficult sometimes to understand what "wholesale value" means. By the way, it's the price dealers pay for cars at auctions, or from one another. When we advertise a car that's being sold near or under wholesale value, that's a good thing, and please don't try to chop down the price much more than that. If you do, you're probably the type of person who wouldn't know a good deal if it ran you over.

A suggestion to you is this: show up early in the morning while we're happy and groggy. You might even get us to slip and come off the price a bit more. Make our day and buy a car early, and avoid waiting all day to come in at closing time. I don't believe that "buyers are liars," like the other places say, but please don't make me think that way. I think buyers are...flowers!

Just don't judge me for what I am. I hate those wishy-washy, slick haired, gold totin' salesmen just as much as you do, if not more. I'm not like them. They scare me, and I still beat myself up over buying a car from one of the "big guys." Those guys you can take advantage of, lie to, spit upon, etc. The government already has with the cash for clunkers deal, since they haven't paid them for 90% of the trades they've taken in. I say it serves them right; karma, baby!
-Biggs

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Short-Throw Shifter: Demo Derby Granny

So an old lady came into the car lot today to ask for directions. She walked slowly, somewhat hunched over, and stared at us through bi-focals the size of dinner plates. I had the impression that she shouldn't be driving, and looking over her shoulder to see where she parked, my suspicions were confirmed. Granted we don't have parking spaces at our dealership, it's pretty much common sense that you don't park in the middle of an open driveway.

Anyway, the lady was lost, so we tried to help her. Of course she had no address on hand, nor a phone number, and while we tried to google her destination, she walked out while mumbling that she'd find her way just fine.


It was only when she got in her car that I noticed the dents and dings all over her car. Every single body panel was dented, scraped, or otherwise mangled. I ran outside to prevent disaster, but I was too late. She had already backed into a royal blue Honda S2000. I had to risk my life and step in front of her vehicle to get her attention.

She had no idea that she had hit a car, and proved so, by saying, "But I didn't hear any loud noises." I doubted she could hear much at all, and I figured that out in the thirty seconds of conversation I had with her just moments before. As she climbed out of her car with fuzzy seat and steering wheel covers, she performed a strange maneuver of snaking her left arm through the steering wheel to shift her car into park.

Some people shouldn't be driving, period. And this lady, well, she probably shouldn't be driving as of ten years ago. I hope someone will have the guts to stand up to me years from now, put out their hand, and say: "Give me the keys, it's time."

Next time I'll be on the watch for cars that have possibly been used in demolition derbies, and I'll kindly ask them to leave before they damage any of our cars. In fact, I'll probably ask them to just step out of the vehicle so I can pull it around for them. Yeah, that sounds better. Then I wave from the curb as they turn out into oncoming traffic (it's a one way street). Yikes!

-Biggs

Short-Throw Shifter: So Long Sweet Saturn

So long, Saturn. Your company was doomed from the start, back in 1985. You attempted to be a different company, trying to compete against machine-made Japanese cars with crummy, forgettable American junk. Well, in case you weren't aware, it didn't work.

Your cars have always been second rate. They are about as good-looking as a hippo bathing in Rogaine. I hope that the Penske Automotive Group will either turn this brand into something substantial, or that they'll be smarter than GM and just trash the company.

Unless you can build quality and attractive looking cars, you don't deserve to be in business. Take a lesson from Pontiac. And SAAB....*sigh*...I have nothing to say.
-Biggs

Monday, August 24, 2009

Burnin' Rubber: Gymkhana Racing

Gymkhana, a term which originates from the showcasing of horseriders and their talents, is now being associated with skillful drivers of powerful cars on unorthodox tracks.

Ken Block, who is sponsored by Monster and Subaru, is the king of this new style of racing. If you haven't seen his videos on youtube, you're missing out.

Imagine a souped up and silly-fast Subaru WRX STI (pictured below) blowing through an industrial course full of insane turns and incredible obstacles. Ken Block is doing things that have never been done in a car before. His videos are honestly some of my favorites on youtube, and that's saying a lot, since I'm probably on youtube every day while eating breakfast.

In this image, the dummy is holding a water balloon in his hand, and though it appears that the Subaru is going to hit the dummy head on, Ken Block swings the rear end the opposite direction, hitting the dummy's hand with his drivers side rear fender, bursting the balloon of green monster beverage in a slow motion display of giddy joy.

Check it out, it's absolutely amazing. Copy and paste the link below. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ7R_buZPSo
-Biggs

Test Drive: Mini Cooper S


Few cars are as easily recognized as the Mini Cooper. It grew to mass popularity when the new Italian Job came out a few years ago, and they've retained their iconic status and uniqueness.

Drive one, and you'll know why these rocket racers were used for getaway cars. They are light, they are small, easy to drive, fuel efficient, and being turbocharged, they are fast.

And if customization is your thing, forget Scion and that silly Nissan Cube. There's no better way in the automotive world to express yourself than with the Mini Cooper. According to Mini's website, there are over 10,000,000 different combinations of Mini Cooper. The possibilities are, well, endless.

The Mini Cooper is a very fun car to drive. It's low to the ground, has a tight suspension, and a gutsy engine. Push it, it goes. Turn it, it turns. It's been said that it's like driving a go-cart, and that's exactly what it's like, with the addition of air conditioning.

The ride can be a bit rough, and the interior panels squeak like a pack of mice cornered by a hungry bobcat. The interior layout of buttons and knobs makes me feel like I'm in an Apollo Lander, and if I were, I'd probably slam into the moon because I couldn't find the appropriate controls. Also, the only person who would fit in the back seat is Bubba from Forrest Gump, cuz he ain't got no legs.

Those complaints, however, are fairly minor when compared to the overall experience of the Mini Cooper. In my opinion, the only Mini worth buying is the "S" version, which means turbocharged (after 2006) or supercharged (before 2006). The non-S is fun, but not nearly as sporty.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Friday, August 21, 2009

Test Drive: 2008 Volkswagen R32


While many "R" enthusiasts swear by the exclusive six-speed manual in the past generation, it's hard to discredit the latest (and possibly last) top of the line Golf...Rabbit...what do they call it now? Doesn't matter. It's a hot hatch either way.

Available with one trim and two options (Navigation and ipod connection), the R32 is loaded and ready for fun. Only found in a two door with Volkswagen's new automatic DSG (dual clutch) transmission, the 2008 R32 provokes mixed feelings from a devoted crowed of followers. Some say that VW has gone soft by offering such an iconic and powerful car without a standard (not even an optional) manual tranny. You could say the motive is to captivate a larger audience, allowing drivers who prefer automatic to purchase this otherwise exclusive vehicle. However, with only 5000 coming to the U.S. each year, that answer is considered myth-busted.

Even without the preferred manual tranny, the R32 is a beast to be reckoned with. It's little brother, the GTI, is 400 pounds lighter and only 0.5 seconds slower in 0-60 time, and is affordably priced when pitted against the R. However, with a few nicer upgrades, 50 more hp, and Volkswagen's signature "4Motion," the R32 feels much more refined and glued to the road. It's exhaust note sounds like, should ginormous amounts of catnip fall from heaven, a lion's purr.

When compared to Japan's evil twins, the Evo and the STI, the R32 can't quite keep up in a sprint, but neither of the former can match the R's refinement and near luxury. Overall, despite being a tad slower, the R32 is incomparably solid, allowing for a comfortable and engaging daily driver with immediate power through it's naturally aspirated V6. The turbocharged demons from Japan suffer, like nearly every other t-charged car, from turbo lag.

Though my drive only lasted a few minutes, I loved the feeling of the R32. The hatch looks great and allows for diversity which cannot be found in a standard sedan or coupe. Would I own one? I surely wouldn't mind. Though I'm partial to four doors, this two-door hatch has certainly made me re-think my ways.

Thanks for reading.
-Biggs

Monday, August 17, 2009

Kickin' Tires: Porsche Panamera

I must not be a true Porsche fan. First, I'm not wealthy enough to even consider renting one. Second, I welcome cars like the Boxter, Cayenne, Cayman, and the latest Panamera. Many Porsche fanatics would have me beheaded and quartered, drug through the streets of Stuttgart, Germany for blasphemy. Sure, they're not the 911, 928, or a 959, but in my eyes, they all wear the Porsche badge.

The Boxter came into play when Porsche was somewhat struggling financially, and played a key role in stabilizing the company. Though not much to hoot and hollar about, the Boxter has been a success for Porsche, and you see them everywhere.

The Cayenne was more controversal, it being an SUV made by a sports car brand. Though odd and out of place, the Cayenne is one of the fastest (if not the fastest) SUV's on the road today, proving it can hold true to Porsche's performance standards.
Recently introduced into the lineup is the Cayman. At first glance, it's a boxter with a hard top. But don't be fooled, the Cayman has been labled by many to be (*whisper it*) better than the 911. It's balance is better than the 911, and with a bit more power (and a more attractive behind) we might find the 911 obsolete.

Now, Porsche has gone to another level entirely. Say good-bye to BMW's 7-series and the Benz S-Class: the Panamera is here. Nowhere else can you find gravity bending performance combined with pure luxury. I guess you could call it a Hybrid, so to speak. The Panamera seats four adults in a four door, first class setting which makes aircraft takeoff feel lethargic. It's standard V8 produces 400 hp, while a turbo version will pump out 500 plus, launching you and three friends to 60 mph in, oh, about 4 seconds. The supercars welcome you, the first four-door, with open arms and tears in their eyes. They never thought it would be possible, and neither did we.
The Panamera is pure Porsche, in styling, comfort, handling and
performance. It's curves, modeled after the Porsches of old, are as timeless and smooth as the 911 Turbo of 1975. The only downside with this four-door beauty, like nearly every Porsche before it, is the pricetag. True Porsche indeed. At a six-figure pricetag, the Panamera is for the rich and famous. Maybe in a few decades I can afford to buy a used one.
-Biggs